Review

Rotisserie-chickens-reviewed-and-ranked_fullsize_story1

Fair game or fowl play: 8 grocery store rotisserie chickens, reviewed & ranked

Published March 18, 2020

Rotisserie chickens have become the unsung heroes of quick weeknight meals. But how good do they really taste? And how much do they vary from store to store? Lori Fredrich put chickens from some of the most popular grocers to the test, going in depth to provide you the most comprehensive information possible about each.

Food-writers-experience-with-genopalate_fullsize_story1

Facing my biggest foodie fears: My candid experience with GenoPalate

Published Jan. 16, 2020

As a food writer, the idea of taking the GenoPalate test struck a bit of (potentially irrational) terror into my soul. I love food. And I love almost every type of food. What if I found out there were foods I needed to eliminate? Or that my ideal diet shouldn't include cheese? Wine? Oysters? Or worse?

Mandalorian-episode-one_fullsize_story1

5 thoughts on the first episode of "The Mandalorian"

Published Nov. 13, 2019

Wondering whether or not you should check out the latest installment in the "Star Wars" saga? Check out my five thoughts on the first chapter of the big-screen blockbuster's first live-action small screen adventure.

Samsung-galaxy-note-10-plus-review_fullsize_story1

Samsung's Galaxy Note 10+ is great

Published Nov. 4, 2019

It comes with a bigger screen, pressure sensitive stylus, three cameras, fewer buttons and jacks, and a higher price tag. But it still might be a worthwhile investment.

Pizza-hut-stuffed-cheez-it-pizza-review_fullsize_story1

WATCH: We tried the Pizza Hut stuffed Cheez-It pizza

Published Sept. 18, 2019

We love pizza. And we love Cheez-Its. But do we love the two combined together? Because this is 2019 and fast food companies are now madcap lunatics, this is a question that has an answer as Pizza Hut recently introduced the stuffed Cheez-It pizza.

10-wisconsin-state-fair-foods-reviewed_fullsize_story1

10 new Wisconsin State Fair foods, reviewed and ranked

Published Aug. 3, 2018

Lori Fredrich spent the bulk of opening day at the Wisconsin State Fair working her way through a list of reader-suggested foods, tasting every single one. She's ranked 10 of them from worst to best (10 being the worst) and included her tasting notes for your reading enjoyment.

Janelle-monae-summerfest-review-2018_fullsize_story1

Janelle Monae delivers sexy, electric, empowering show at Summerfest

Published July 7, 2018

Summerfest crowds may have gotten a break from the oppressive heat on Friday, but the BMO Harris stage was a virtual fire pit thanks to Janelle Monáe, who followed up the soulful sounds of Chicago-born Milwaukee native B-Free with a powerful, empowering set that left everyone in attendance both electrified and feeling all the feels.

Bishop-briggs-summerfest-review-2018_fullsize_story1

A buoyant Bishop Briggs beguiles at the Big Gig

Published July 4, 2018

Bishop Briggs' musical gene may have been sparked at the age of 4 when she gave her first live performance in a karaoke bar in Tokyo. But the rising indie-pop artist has moved well beyond her sing-along beginnings, as her performance at the Brigg's Big Backyard clearly demonstrated.

Kaleo-review-summerfest-2018_fullsize_story1

Kaleo keeps it fun and interesting at Briggs & Stratton Big Backyard

Published July 1, 2018

A feathered microphone center stage and a sheet hanging in the back with a photograph of a chunk of ice on it were not the only unique things experienced at Kaleo's first Summerfest performance. These decorations, along with much more, kept things interesting.

2018-modestmouse-concertreview_fullsize_story1

Modest Mouse floats on even with sound issues

Published May 6, 2018

After 11 years, the day of their return at this venue finally happened last night. People stormed in the venue wearing different eras of Modest Mouse Band tees and were hooting and hollering the whole time before the show began.

Concert-review-2018-franzfedinand_fullsize_story1

Franz Ferdinand makes an epic comeback to The Rave

Published May 1, 2018

Over a decade since "Take Me Out," you might have wondered what happened to Franz Ferdinand. After dabbling in a supergroup, in late 2017, the band announced a new lineup, single, album and tour dates - including a rollicking show at The Rave Monday night.