Rapid review

Hamburger-marys_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Hamburger Mary's (in the new location)

Published Feb. 27, 2017

Hamburger Mary's - a gay-themed and LGBTQ-friendly burger chain, bar and performance venue - moved from its purple Bay View building to the former La Perla space in Walker's Point. Recently, OnMilwaukee stopped in for burgers and milkshakes.

Bavette-rapid_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Bavette La Boucherie

Published Nov. 18, 2016

It's been three years since Chef Karen Bell opened Bavette - a butcher shop and restaurant - in the Third Ward. Recently OnMilwaukee stopped in for lunch.

Rapidreviewhalehouse_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: The Hale House

Published Oct. 28, 2016

The Hale House, which opened in 2015, brings scratch cooking and craft beers to the South Side suburb of Hales Corners. A recent Friday night visit was a delightful one.

Brown-bottle-rapid-review_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Brown Bottle Pub

Published Oct. 27, 2016

After having been closed for a while - and serving for a time as home to a different restaurant - the legendary Brown Bottle Pub reopened in 2014 with a renewed focus on Wisconsin-themed pub food. That surely explains why the beer cheese soup is not to be missed.

Rapidreviewbollywood_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Bollywood Grill's lunch buffet

Published Oct. 26, 2016

The words "lunch" and "buffet" generally bring joy to people's hearts and stomachs, and the Bollywood Grill, 1038 N. Jackson St., has a particularly pleasing one.

Rapidreviewmcginns_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: McGinn's Sports Bar

Published Oct. 20, 2016

I like wings, but more than that, I like wings at McGinn's, where variety is the spice of life. Because there's such a good selection of flavors on the big, meaty wings, I like to mix up textures and flavors, like Jamaican dry rub jerk, the tangy original buffalo and sweet maple bourbon.

Daddysrapidreview_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Daddy's Soul Food & Grille

Published Oct. 19, 2016

It's the season of comfort food, and Milwaukeeans need to look no further than Daddy's for delicious sweater-weather eats from fried chicken to mashed potatoes to macaroni and cheese. Just say yes to gravy.

Rapidreviewkimsthai_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Kim's Thai

Published Oct. 14, 2016

Maybe you tried Kim's Thai for the first time when it was located in Pacific Produce on South 27th Street. But, have you tried their new dine-in location on Layton? Their comprehensive covers myriad Thai dishes from curries to whole Thai-style snapper.

Cafelulurapidreview_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Cafe Lulu

Published Oct. 12, 2016

Unlike seemingly everyone else in Milwaukee, I don't drink the Bay View Kool-Aid (it's PBR). But like everyone else who's ever been there, I do love Cafe Lulu. It's a three-time OnMilwaukee winner for best sandwiches, but the Asian slaw is the real star. I brought two D.C. friends to try it. This is our story.

Conejitosrapid_fullsize_story1

Rapid review: Conejito's Place

Published Oct. 12, 2016

Milwaukeeans seem to either love or hate Conejito's, an unintentionally kitschy hole-in-the-wall in Walker's Point featuring dirt-cheap margaritas and made-from-scratch food that's served, primarily, on paper plates.

Tanpoporapidreview_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: Tanpopo Ramen & Sushi

Published Oct. 11, 2016

For a seemingly quiet, low-key suburb, Hales Corners is full of surprises. Case in point: Tanpopo, a restaurant bringing brimming bowls of authentic ramen to the world of Milwaukee suburbia - and cooking up a pleasantly sized following as a result.

Screamingtunaserviceindustrynight_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: Service Industry Night at Screaming Tuna

Published Oct. 10, 2016

Mondays are generally not a prime night for eating out. It's the beginning of the week, many restaurants are closed and people are coming off the weekend and more inclined to stay in. But if you deign to dine out, and want good food and a great experience, Screaming Tuna is the spot.

Rapidreviewtrerivalibrunch_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: Tre Rivali brunch

Published Oct. 7, 2016

Next time you plan a day to peruse the boutiques in the Third Ward, it's worthwhile to consider starting your day with brunch at Tre Rivali. The dining room is bright and comfortable, and the menu contains options for just about everyone.

Rapidreviewdivino_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: Divino Wine & Dine

Published Oct. 6, 2016

When Palermo Villa closed, I was fearful that I'd lost one of my absolute favorite Milwaukee pizzerias. But then Dean Cannestra re-opened his sister's restaurant under a new name but with basically the same menu and definitely the same pizza.

Rapidoscars_fullsize_story1

Rapid Review: Oscar's Pub & Grill

Published Oct. 5, 2016

It's been five years since Oscar Castaneda opened Oscar's Pub & Grill in the Clarke Square neighborhood, and to many diners' delight, neither the service, quality nor the prices have changed much at all.